New Level 100 Talent – Claws of Shirvallah

BREAKING NEWS – In the latest Warlords of Draenor Beta (Build 18594) a new level 100 talent has been data mined for Feral’s, The Claws of Shirvallah. MMO Champion has a write up of all of the new information. The talent reads;

Renegade Druids have developed the ability to shapeshift into a creature half man and half cat. This alternate Cat Form allows the use of all non-damaging Druid spells while shapeshifted, and increases Versatility by 5%.

“Have we learned nothing from the Scythe of Elune?”
–Archdruid Hamuul Runetotem

The new level 100 talent - Claws of Shirvallah

The new level 100 talent – Claws of Shirvallah. [Image modified from WoW Head]

This new talent replaces the older talent of Savagery that made Savage Roar entirely passive. This talent was not well liked in the Feral community, the main issues being that it was a trap for new players in that it wouldn’t allow them to fully learn the proper rotation. In any case the form looks amazing. There is a different “type” of cat for each of the races that can be Druids.

shivallah forms

The new Shivallah forms for each Druid race. [Image modified from WoW Head]

There is also a video where you can see these forms in motion over at WoW Head.

Discussion
One of the first things I noticed about this talent was the flavour text. I’m not aware of any other talents for any class that have flavour text. Something special for us. It has also been pointed out that these models use the Worgen mount animation slowed down. Some people view this as a negative feature, but it doesn’t really bother me as Blizzard has re-used models, skins and animations loads of times before. Protodrake and firehawk mounts use the same model, as does the Raven Lord and the raptor mounts. Even in  Mists of Pandaria we saw it. The Mogu is a male Dranei and the Saurok are Worgens.

The question is now how does this affect our talents? Lunar Inspiration gives us a ranged combo point generator and increases rotational complexity – arguably a talent for “experienced” players. Bloodtalons now functions like the current version of Dream of Cenarius It was originally an AoE talent where Thrash would spread Rakes to multiple targets. Similarly to LI and current DoC it could be argued that Bloodtalons is also a talent for experience players.

And now we have the Claws of Shirvallah which appears to be a utility / passive talent filling the same niche as the old Savagery talent or the “noob” talent as some refer to it as. I can see this talent acting like Heart of the Wild did for progression raiders especially with Mythic raiding. The extra utility for crowd control or off healing may prove useful for encounters that are now being designed to focus on these areas. Even the bonus to Versatility is similar to the passive 6% stat bonus on HotW. There is some discussion about the talent over on the Fluid Druid you should check out if interested.

I really like the idea of being able to cast certain spells without changing form. It annoyed me on fights such as Horridon where I was able to use my utility spells (Remove Corruption) but I was penalised by having to un-shift affecting my survivability and throughput. Where classes like Paladin’s could cast their spells and continue with what they were doing.

If you watched the video you may have noticed the lack of animation in the tail of the models as they were moving. This factor, plus the new talent itself, plus the (slow) progress of the Warlords Beta seems we will be looking at a release date closer to the “on or before December 20th“. I’m not too keyed in on how the Northern Hemisphere gaming market works, but it seems like a good business strategy to me to release the game close to Christmas for (1) presents and (2) time to play during the holidays.

What are your thoughts on the talent? Do you think it fits in with the other level 100 talents? Do you like the new form and are you ok with it being a re-worked Worgen model? Let me know what you think. Feel free to leave a comment on the post, send me an email at fileunderferal@gmail.com, follow me on twitter @Elamari_ or like and comment on the File Under Feral Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/FileUnderFeral.

~Elamari

6 thoughts on “New Level 100 Talent – Claws of Shirvallah

  1. Nice writeup! I was unaware of this new form until today. I have mixed opinions of how the model looks, I kind of like just being a cat…., though It’s kinda nostalgic of “Thunder Cats”. And I guess that makes it awesome. =)

    I notice on the tool top provided, a stat called versatility. Any idea of what that is? I noticed you referenced it to something like the passive 6% from heart of the wild. So it might be a modifier against base stats? (I wonder if this will become essential to hybrid use classes, like druids, monks, shaman and paladins…)

    Interesting stuff!

    • Hi, thanks for the comment.

      I didn’t think of Thunder Cats but it totally makes sense, and so does Voltron.
      Versatility is a new secondary stat coming in Warlords of Draenor. At Blizzcon 2013 the devs announced 3 new secondary stats based on the trinkets in Siege of Ogrimmar; Amplify, Readiness and Multistrike. These would serve as replacements for hit and expertise which are being removed and would be in addition to haste, crit and mastery.
      * Amplify was meant to multiply your other secondary stats.
      * Readiness was meant to reduce the cooldown of throughput and survivability abilities.
      * Multistrike will sometimes replicated a spell to hit again – similar to the old fury swipes talent or the proc on the legendary staff Dragonwrath, Tarecgosa’s Rest.

      After some testing the devs found that Amplify and Readiness were not working out as intended. So they have been removed and a single new stat has been developed – Versatility.
      * Versatility grants a 1% increase to your damage, healing, and absorbs, and reduces the damage you take by 0.5%. It’s a straight throughput increase to your main role while also boosting secondary roles and survivability. There is a dev watercooler article that explains it more here (http://us.battle.net/wow/en/blog/14322443/dev-watercooler-stat-updates-for-warlords-of-draenor-6-4-2014)

      What I meant when comparing it to HotW was that HotW has a passive benefit (6% stats) and an active component similar to Claws of Shirvallah – which has the passive benefit (5% versatility) and an “active” component – able to use utility spells in form. They are similar conceptually.

      I don’t think it will be stronger for hybrid classes. Reforging is being removed, gemming & enchanting are being significantly reduced meaning we will have relatively less stat customisation. I think this was designed with that in mind so it will be “less” penalising it will be useful, but not optimal.

      Hope that answers your questions. Cheers.

      ~Elamari

      • Wow, that’s a ton of information, thank you! I was wondering how all these changes were going to pan out. I mentioned on another post on your blog; I was concerned about the flavor in some ways being lost with certain class types, especially with the loss of some key stats. I guess this helps explain how it works its way out however.

        What I mean is, well druid tanks rely heavily on dodge. And I wasn’t sure how that would pan out with the loss of expertise and hit. And from a tanking play style.. (I haven’t done a lot of tanking, but I’ve tanked a bit on my druid, so we generate rage, and spend it on either avoidance or recovery). Armor and Healing makes sense.. but how does that make tanking different on a druid than say a paladin?

        I was also concerned about the feral flavor.. one thing that makes the way I stack my statistics a lot of fun (and gives me a lot of flexibility), is the energy refunds on many of our non-connects. I guess You’ve more or less answered that one too.. without reforging.. *cry*

        I see what you mean now with the passive and active components.. while on the topic of those two talents.. that’s going to make a pretty deadly combination. Esp in arenas. HotW is op to begin with. I tend not to spec into it for arenas.. mostly because healing forces me to change shape. And I find against a lot of comps, it becomes a pretty dangerous move. But I feel like with these two talents, cats are going to be as hard to squash as holy pallys for 45 second bursts at a time.. except without any loss to damage capabilities. (without heart of the wild.. we can what.. cast 2 or 3 healing touches till oom?, with heart of the wild, we can cast indefinitely and they pack a lot more punch, not to mention healing buffs while in cat form if glyphed to it) Maybe feral will be the new flavor of the month!

        While it’s a little off topic, just to defend myself of other kittys calling me mad for not specing into heart of the wild.. I normally role like this. http://us.battle.net/wow/en/tool/talent-calculator#U!.2.0.1!t
        -Keep Cenarion Ward up
        -Soul of the forest helps keep me from pooling
        -Dream of cenarius causes healing touch to buff my next two moves for 20% damage, and since I have 20% chance to get a free healing touch per combo point, the result is I get a whole ton of self heals, and buffed damage. (also has some nice utility, can spend cenarion ward as well as my healing touches on party members)

        I only started playing wow in cata, and when mop came out, the changes really intimidated me. Turns out I really loved what they did with it (though I miss the character of the old talent tree); but mop in my opinion has been a ton of fun. I think I’ll sit back with this expansion, not get worked up about it, and enjoy the trip. =)

  2. Hey Galaispera

    The removal of hit/expertise won’t impact on a Guardian Druids’ ability to tank. Currently in Mists of Pandaria hit/expertise are capped to ensure rage generating spells are guaranteed to hit. More incoming rage means you can use the active mitigation more frequently, so currently they affect dodge in a secondary way.

    In Warlords of Draenor,
    ** Hit and Expertise has been removed as a secondary stat.
    ** Hit and Expertise bonuses on all items and item enhancements (gems, enchants, etc.) have been converted into Critical Strike, Haste, or Mastery.
    ** All characters now have a 100% chance to hit, 0% chance to be dodged, 3% chance to be parried, and 0% chance for glancing blows, when fighting creatures up to 3 levels higher (bosses included).
    ** Tanking specializations receive an additional 3% reduction in chance to be parried. Tank attacks now have a 0% chance to be parried vs. creatures up to 3 levels higher.

    http://us.battle.net/wow/en/blog/13423478/warlords-of-draenor%E2%84%A2-beta-patch-notes-july-22-7-22-2014#hit_expertise

    Conceptually active mitigation is the same across all the tanks – most tanks will have 2 spells that provide avoidance, healing, absorbs which cost a resource generated by resource generating spells. A Druid will use spells like Mangle and Lacerate while a Paladin will use Crusader Strike and Judgement.

    A Paladin is different due to the synergy between Shield of the Righteous and Word of Glory, and that Word of Glory can be cast on other raid members. Druids can’t do that with Savage Defence or Frenzied Regeneration.

    I am not sure if our energy refunds are being removed. Since we are not hit/expertise capped all the time (when attacking from behind) it only matter if we were attacking from the front like Kolagan, Ultraxion, Tortos etc… I should follow that up.

    Heart of the Wild is changing in Warlords – it’s losing the 6% stat bonus.

    SotF + Doc is a popular build. It’s what I’ve rolled with nearly the entire expansion. I found CW not very good because it was on the GCD and with it’s short cool down I was not having as higher uptime as I could.

    There is a nice summary of the Feral changes so far over at WoW Head – http://www.wowhead.com/guide=2300/warlords-of-draenor-druid-changes#specializations-changed-feral

    Have a good one.

  3. Pingback: Group Quest #171: One Chopper, Two Chopper, Red Chopper, Blue Chopper, GET TO THE CHOPPAH | Group Quest

  4. Pingback: Commantary on Preach Gaming’s Warlords of Draenor Feral Druid Quick Look | File Under Feral

Leave a Reply

